Skip to main content
  • Home
  • Awards and Recognition

Awards and Recognition

Neil S. Bucklew Award

The Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion is accepting nominations for the prestigious Neil S. Bucklew award.

This award is named in honor of WVU's twenty-first President Neil S. Bucklew. In 1986, he initiated the Social Justice Program, a forerunner to the recently restructured Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. WVU faculty, staff and administrators who have been or are currently involved in the promotion of social justice are eligible.

This recognition is given to the recipient who has best demonstrated outstanding leadership, courage, and support on a continuous basis in the area of social justice in the West Virginia University system. Nominations should include a cover sheet with the name, title, addresses of the nominee and contact information of the person nominating the individual. In addition, nominations should include a full bio of the person being nominated, and a statement of no more than 250 words summarizing why the award should be given to that person. Three one-page letters of recommendation may accompany the nomination.

This $2,500.00 award may be used for professional development or directed to one of several worthy WVU Foundation Accounts on behalf of WVU in the recipient’s name.

Information received should relate to the nominee’s leadership in social justice, courage they may have shown in activities and endeavors and support they have provided to others related to social justice.


2019 – Dr. Melissa Latimer, WVU ADVANCE Center

2018 – Dr. Shelia S. Price, WVU School of Dentistry

2017 – Daniel W. Brewster, WVU School of Sociology

2016 – Dr. Leslie E. Tower, WVU School of Social Work

2015 – Dr. Ellesa C. High, WVU Department of English

2014 – Dr. Katy Ryan, WVU Department of English

2013 – Franklin D. Cleckley, WVU College of Law, “Lifetime Achievement”

2012 – Bonnie Mae Brown, WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

2011 – Terry Nebel, WVU Office of Information Technology

2010 – Richard Fleisher, WVU Extension Service

2009 – C.B. Wilson, WVU Provost’s Office

2008 – Dinah W. Courrier, Potomac State College

2007 – Horace Belmear, WVU Office of Student Affairs

2006 – Garrett Ford, WVU Department of Athletics

2005 – John Zondlo, WVU Chemical Engineering Faculty

2004 – Carolyn Reyer, WVU Native American Studies Program (Founder)

2003 – M. Duane Nellis, WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

2002 – Devika Malhotra, WVU Parkersburg

2001 – Ric MacDowell, WVU Extension Service

2000 – Madonna C. Kolbenschlag, WVU School of Medicine

1999 – T. Anne Hawkins, University Learning Center

1998 – Judith Gold Stitzel, WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

1997 – Bernard Schultz, WVU College of Creative Arts

1996 – Robert D’Alessandri, WVU School of Medicine

1995 – Larry D. Robinson, WVU Parkersburg

1994 – Charles Spring, Presbyterian Campus Minister

1993 – Carolyn Bailey Lewis, WNPB

1992 – Dana Brooks, WVU College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences

1991 – Edward C. Keller, WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

1990 – Franklin D. Cleckley, WVU College of Law

Higher Education Excellence in Diversity Award

                            West Virginia University Achieves HEED Distinction for 5th Straight Year

Vice President Meshea L. Poore announced in her 2020 State of Diversity address that WVU has again earned the Higher Education Excellence in Diversity Award from the publication Insight Into Diversity. The HEED Award takes a comprehensive look into an institution’s recruitment and retention of students and employees and looks at continued leadership support for campus diversity and inclusion.

“In looking at WVU’s diversity demographics we have been holding steady,” Poore said. “As it relates to faculty recruitment, we see a slight uptick in hiring and our retention remained steady. However, in all candor, these numbers need to improve significantly. It is something we can and must do to make sure diversity and inclusion are woven into the fabric of our institution. We must acknowledge when progress has been made but not rest in our celebration because there is work to do.”

Image is logo for INSIGHT for Diversity Magazine's Higher Education Excellence in Diversity Award 2021 Top Colleges for Diversity

West Virginia University is committed to fostering a diverse and inclusive culture by promoting diversity, inclusion, equality, and intercultural and intercommunity outreach. The University does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, ancestry, age, physical or mental disability, marital or family status, pregnancy, veteran status, service in the uniformed services (as defined by state and federal law), religion, creed, sex, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity, or gender expression in the administration of any of its educational programs, activities, or with respect to admission or employment.

– Board of Governors Rule 1.6

Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

1085 Van Voorhis Road Suite 250
P.O. Box 6202, Morgantown WV 26506-6202

Phone icon 304-293-5600
Fax icon 304-293-8279
Fax icon

Report Child Abuse or Neglect

Trust your gut feeling. If you suspect any type of child abuse or neglect, including physical or sexual abuse, report it immediately.

Report Abuse

File a Complaint

There's no place for discrimination and harassment  on our campus. If you have experienced or have knowledge of discrimination or harassment, please report it to us.

File a Complaint